top of page
Search

Changing Your Fairytale By: Gabby Gabzilla

As a little girl I dreamed of becoming a teacher. I would find my soulmate and we would purchase a home with a white picket fence. I wanted a large family to make up for being the only child. A few family pets and a beautiful photo album on an old antique coffee table. 


This photo album would have grainy wedding photos, Gerber baby picture submissions, family pictures taken in the backyard, and an additional assortment of captured memories for guests to preview.


Guests would come by for a perfectly cooked pot roast. I would open the door with a clean apron, hair and makeup done, and a glass of wine in my hand. “Welcome to our home, ha ha ha...welcome”.


I’m a sucker for a fairytale. I have these very detailed pictures in my head (completely made up of course) and I’m always devastated when the picture doesn’t come to fruition. Heartbroken honestly.


How is it possible that you’re breaking my heart when I saw us dancing at our 30th wedding anniversary???


I place people on pedestals they cannot maintain. My expectations are way too high. I’m always envisioning success with a little fairy dust sprinkled around it.

 

As I get older I’ve been able to recognize my obsessive need for control. I’ve even become a tad bit more patient and understanding. Work in progress. 

Let’s all remember: 


You can’t change a person. Whew, this is so hard to overcome. Acceptance is key however. “I don’t like your character or even your morals. Therefore I’m choosing to have a life without you in it. You can remain as you are.”  


Ensure to obtain happiness as an individual. People are people and they’ll let you down every time. When your happiness is driven from within outside factors have less of a say on your day (rhymed). It’s also impractical and a burden to place such a responsibility on a person.


Live in the now. Don’t miss out on the present while focusing on the future. I personally listed my wants in my current fairytale and guess what? I have most of those things already. Not in the same order but they are there and there’s time to obtain the rest. Heck, maybe I/we can’t vision what’s to come because it’s that amazing. 


Allow room for change and growth. Our fairytales are allowed to change with us. And when your fairytale doesn’t come to fruition write another one. Write a better one. Why? Because we control our happiness. 


Instead of trying to control someone or something, try obsessively controlling yourself, your happiness, and your reactions. That is the ultimate control. 


Boss Mom Gabby 💋






16 views0 comments
bottom of page